Debt Diary

My struggle to break the chains of revolving debt

Allocation of funds

From the Tuscaloosa News:

“The rule of thumb is 35 percent for housing, 15 percent
for transportation, 15 percent for debt reduction, 25 percent for
miscellaneous and 10 percent for savings,” said Andrew Housser, co-CEO
of Bills.com, a personal finance site geared toward consumer
education.The greatest variable in this mix is housing costs, according
to Sandra Shore, a senior counselor at Novadebt, a non-profit
credit-counseling firm.

Budget
Category
Bills.com category
Tithing Tithing 13.2%
Mortgage 1 Housing 28.9%
Mortgage 2 Housing 5.6%
Line of Credit 1 Debt reduction 1.3%
VISA platinum Debt reduction 6.4%
Loan #2 (Scooter) Debt reduction 1.8%
Loan #3 (Car) Transportation 5.9%
Home Depot Debt reduction 0.7%
Student Loan Debt reduction 1.8%
Phone & Internet Misc 5.4%
Gas (Questar) Misc 4.7%
Grocery Misc 7.8%
Power (Rocky Mountain) Misc 1.9%
Water Misc 1.1%
Car Insurance Transportation 1.5%
Sewer Misc 0.3%
Life Insurance Misc 1.3%
Allowance Misc 5.7%
Kid’s Lunch Misc 0.4%
Miscellaneous Misc 1.0%
Eyecare Misc 0.2%
Drugs Misc 0.2%
Hair Care Misc 0.4%
Car repair Misc 0.6%
Gasoline Transportation 1.2%
Kid’s Clothes Misc 0.6%

Here’s how it translates:

My %  Bills.com % Diff
Housing 35% 35% 0%
Tithing 13% 13%
Debt reduction 12% 15% -3%
Transportation 9% 15% -6%
Misc 32% 25% 7%
Savings 0% 10% -10%

I’m assuming that this is talking about the paycheck net of taxes.
That’s some pretty vague guidance…I plugged the numbers in my own
personal situation. So I know that i’m not doing so well with the
savings, but that’s a conscious decision on my part to reduce debt. But
what’s crazy is that I’m at 9% on my “transportation.” This includes
gas, insurance, and car payment. We only have one car, so I guess that
kind of explains it. Do they expect you to have 2 car payments? Eh. I
guess I wasn’t so impressed with the allocation suggesting.

powered by performancing firefox

February 12, 2007 Posted by | debt | Leave a comment